An invitation letter for visa purposes can be obtained by filling-in the Visa/Invitation Letter Online Form (first option).


Should this not be sufficient, the Visa Secretariat ( will be pleased to send, upon request, a personal invitation to all participants (second option).

This letter should NOT be considered as an offer of any kind of financial support on behalf of the organizers and does NOT involve any commitments by the Congress Organizers to cover fees, accommodation, travel expenses or other costs connected to the participation in the Congress.
ERA-EDTA will not be held responsible for visas that are not granted.

International registrants, who require a letter of invitation, will first need to complete the online registration for the 55th ERA-EDTA Congress.

Letters of invitation for spouse/guest registrants will only be provided if the accompanying individual has completed his or her congress registration.


If you are a citizen of one of the following countries, you do not need a visa in order to enter Denmark: Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Albania*, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia- Herzegovina*, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Dominica, El Salvador, Estonia, F.Y.R. of Macedonia*, Finland, France, Georgia*, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kiribati, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova*, Monaco, Montenegro*, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Northern Marianas, Norway, Palau, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Samoa, San Marino, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Serbia**, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Spain, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan***, Timor-Leste, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu, Ukraine*, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Venezuela.


If you are a citizen of one of the following countries, you must have a visa in order to enter Denmark: Afghanistan, Albania*, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina*, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burma (Myanmar), Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China****, Comoros, Congo, Cuba, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, F.Y.R. of Macedonia*, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia*, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Mauritania, Moldova*, Mongolia, Montenegro*, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tomé and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia**, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan***, Tadjikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Uganda, Ukraine*, Uzbekistan, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe as well as if you have a passport issued by the Palestinian Authority.


*Only citizens with biometric passports are exempt from the visa requirement.
**Only citizens with biometric passports are exempt from the visa requirement. This does not apply to persons with passports issued by the Serbian Coordination directorate Koordinaciona uprava.
***Only citizens with a passport issued by Taiwan which contains an identity card number are exempt from the visa requirement. The same applies to citizens with old Taiwanese passports with “Republic of China” on the front page, if the stated place of birth is Taiwan and the passport contains an identity card number.
****Citizens with a “Hong Kong Special Administrative Region” passport, a “Região Administrativa Especial de Macau” passport or a “British National Overseas” passport are exempt from the visa requirement.


Citizens of these countries can also travel to Denmark if they have a residence permit or a long-term visa issued by another country in the European Union (with the exception of Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania), Switzerland, Norway, Iceland and Lichtenstein.
Citizens of all other countries must be in possession of documents which justify the object and the conditions of their stay, and be in possession of sufficient economic resources for their maintenance throughout the period they are intending to remain in Denmark. The documents they are required to present will vary according to the reason of the trip.
The maximum stay in Denmark is 90 days.
It is advisable to purchase travel insurance for your trip.
Given that conditions may vary, we suggest that you contact the Danish Embassy or Consulate in your country to verify these requirements before you plan your trip.


For all information please check the Official Portal for Foreigners (


(Tourism, private, business, conference)
All visa applicants must apply at the Danish Embassy or Consulate in person.

Applications cannot be submitted more than three months prior to departure. However please present your application at least two months before the intended travel.
The consular fees have to be paid when submitting the application; these fees are not reimbursed in case of visa refusal. All points of the visa application form have to be filled in completely and must be correct. If documents are missing, this may cause inadmissibility of the application or delay with the application.

For more information and detailed instructions on the Visa application please visit:

Where to apply ?
If you want to apply for visa or residence permit to Denmark please see the list by clicking on the link below:

VISA Secretariat

Landsberger Str. 155, Haus 1
80687 Munich
Phone: +49 89 - 54 82 34 – 9055
Fax: (+49) (0) 89 - 54 82 34-44